Dr Nasser Peyghambarian

Center Director , CIAN
Director of ERC NSF Center for Integrated Access Networks Dr. Nasser Peyghambarian is a Professor of Optical Sciences in the University of Arizona. His areas of research include optical telecommunication, fiber optics, fiber amplifiers and fiber lasers, integrated optics including waveguide amplifiers, lasers, modulators. Femtosecond laser spectroscopy and dynamics of optical phenomena in semiconductors and organic materials. Nonlinear photonics and high speed optical switching. Characterization of optical materials in terms of speed and nonlinearities. Polymer optoelectronics, photorefractive polymers, organic light emitting diodes and lasers. Email:

Nasser Peyghambarian is a Professor of the College of Optical Sciences and also the Department of Materials Science & Engineering at the University of Arizona. He is the Chair of Photonics and Lasers at the University of Arizona as well as Director of the Photonics Initiative. He is also the Director of the newly created National Science Foundation Engineering Research Center on Integrated Access Networks (CIAN). He is Chairman of the Board and Founder of NP Photonics, Inc. and TIPD, LLC. He is the recipient of the U of A 2007 Technology Innovation Award, International Francqui Chair, Belgium 1998-1999, TRW Young Faculty Award, and 3M Company's Young Faculty Award. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Optical Society of America (OSA), the Society for optical engineers (SPIE) and the American Physical Society (APS). His research interests include optical networks, silicon photonics, optical subsystems and components, nanophotonics, waveguide and fiber optics, fiber lasers and amplifiers, glass-organic hybrid materials and devices, plastic optoelectronics, nonlinear photonics, semiconductor optics, and 3D displays.


Office Location: 

Meinel 537

Mailing Address: 

College of Optical Sciences
The University of Arizona
1630 E. University Blvd.
P.O. Box 210094
Tucson, AZ 85721-0094

Phone Number: 


Fax: 621-9610
  • Ph.D., Indiana University, 1982
  • M.S., Indiana University, 1979
  • B.S., Pahlavi University (Iran), 1976
  • Professor: The University of Arizona, Optical Sciences Center/College of Optical Sciences, 1991-present
  • Professor: The University of Arizona, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, 1993-present
  • Director: National Science Foundation, Engineering Research Center for Integrated Access Networks, 2008-present
  • Chief Executive Officer: NP Photonics Inc., 1998-2002
  • Adjunct Professor: University of California, San Diego, 2007-present
  • Associate Director: National Science Foundation, Science and Technology Center for Materials and Devices for Information Technology Research, 2006-present
  • Chairman of the Board: NP Photonics Inc., 2002-2012
  • Founder: NP Photonics Inc., 1998
  • Founder: TIPD, LLC., 2006
  • Director: Photonics Initiative (Arizona Proposition 301), 2001-present
  • Co-Director: The University of Arizona, Center for Advanced Multifunctional Nonlinear Optical Polymers and Molecular Assemblies, 1995-2001
  • Director: The University of Arizona, Center for Optoelectronic Devices, Interconnects and Packaging, 1995-2004
  • Chair of Photonics and Lasers: The University of Arizona, Optical Sciences Center/College of Optical Sciences, 1994-present
  • Director: Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, Optoelectronic Materials Center, Arizona Group, 1993-1996
  • Visiting Professor: NNT (Japan), 1990
  • Director: The University of Arizona, Optical Circuitry Cooperative, 1991-1995
  • Associate Professor: The University of Arizona, Optical Sciences Center, 1988-1991
  • Assistant Professor: The University of Arizona, Optical Sciences Center, 1985-1988
  • Assistant Research Professor: The University of Arizona, Optical Sciences Center, 1983-1985
  • Postdoctoral Fellow: The University of Arizona, Optical Sciences Center, 1982-1983
  • Postdoctoral Fellow: Indiana University, 1981-1983
  • Research Assistant: Indiana University, 1977-1981
Professional Affiliations and Activities: 
  • American Physical Society: Fellow
  • The Optical Society (OSA): Fellow
  • SPIE: Fellow
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science: Fellow
  • IEEE: Member
  • Member of the international editorial board of the Display and Imaging Materials and Systems (DMS) journal 2012
  • Member of the program committee for the Digital Holography and Three-Dimensional Imaging (DH) meeting, April 29 - May 2, 2012 in Miami, Florida.
  • Program Chair of FILAS, Fiber Laser and Applications, February 1-3, 2012.
  • Chair of the OSA Incubator Meeting on 3D Display, 2011-12.
  • Member of the American Institute of Physics Ad Hoc Committee to review Applied Physics Letters and Journal of Applied Physics 2009-2010.
  • Applied Optics Division Editor for Lasers and Photonics for the Optical Society of America, 2008-2010.
Awards and Honors: 
  • The University of Arizona: Technology Innovation Award, 2007
  • Francqui Foundation (Belgium): International Francqui Chair, 1998-1999
  • Beam Co.: Golden Alligator Award, 2005
  • TRW: Young Faculty Award, 1989-1990
  • 3M Co.: Young Faculty Award, 1987-1989
  • Indiana University: Physics Department, Outstanding Graduate Student in Research, 1981
Specific Research Interests: 
  • Optical networks and optical communication
  • Fiber optics, fiber lasers and amplifiers
  • Organic photonics
  • 3-D holographic display and 3-D telepresence
  • Nonlinear photonics
  • Optical modulators and switches
  • Laser spectroscopy
  • Nanostructures and quantum dots

Adjunct Collaborators

  • Andre Persoons
  • Arkady Bablumyan
  • Arturo Chavez-Pirson
  • Axel Schulzgen
  • M. Kuwata Gonokami
  • Sandalphon Sandalphon
  • Seppo Honkanen
  • Shibin Jiang
  • Stephan Koch
  • Wei Shi
  • Yeshaiahu Fainman

Visiting Collaborators

  • Alex Maslov
  • Lei Ding
  • Takefumi Ota

Books Authored

  • Introduction to Semiconductor Optics
    Nasser Peyghambarian, Stephan W. Koch and Andre Mysyrowicz
  • Nonlinear Photonics
    Hyatt M. Gibbs, Galina Khitrova and Nasser Peyghambarian

Books Edited

  • Optical Bistability III
    Hyatt M. Gibbs, Paul Mandel, Nasser Peyghambarian and S. Desmond Smith


Subscribe to our Blog

Don't want to miss our interesting news and updates! Make sure to visit our Blog.

Contact us

Dr. Allison Huff - Education Director

Amee Hennig - Education & Outreach Manager

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.


Our Partners